GOVERNORS GENERAL OF CANADA-Concluded.

ENGLISH. 1760. Gen. Jeffrey Amherst, (c) 1764. Gen. James Murray. 1768. Gen. Sir Guy Carleton. (d) (Lord Dor- 1835. Lord Gosford. chester). 1778. Gen. Frederick Haldimand. 1786. Lord Dorchester. 1797. Major-General Prescott, 1897. Sir James Craig. 1811. Sir George Prevost. 1815. Sir Gordon Drummond (Acting). 1816. Sir John Cope Sherbrooke. 1818. Duke of Richmond. 1819. Sir Peregrine Maitland (Acting).

1820. Earl of Dalhousie.

English. 1828. Sir James Kempt. 1830. Lord Aylmer. 1838. Earl of Durham. \ 1839. Poulett Thomson (Lord Sydenham). 1841. Sir R. Jackson. 1842. Sir Charles Bagot. 1843. Sir Charles Metcalfe. 1845. Earl Cathcart. 1847. Earl of Elgin. 1855. Sir Edmund Walker Head. 1861. Lord Monck.

GOVERNORS OF NOVA SCOTIA. (e)

AT PORT ROYAL. 1603. Pierre de Monts. 1610. Baron de Poutrincourt. 1611. Charles de Biencourt. 1623. Charles de la Tour. 1632. Isaac de Razilly. 1641. Chas. d'Aunay Charnisay. 1651. Chas. de la Tour. 1657. Sir Thomas Temple. (f) 1670. Hubert de Grandfontaine. 1673. Jacques de Chambly. 1678. Michel de la Vallière. 1684. François M. Perrot. 1687. Robineau de Menneval. 1690. M. de Villebon. 1701. M. de Brouillan. 1704. Simon de Bonaventure. 1706. M. de Subercase. 1710. Col. Saml. Vetch. Gen. Francis Nicholson.
 Col. Saml. Vetch (2nd time). 1717. Col. Richard Philipps. (g) 1725. Lawrence Armstrong (Lieut.-Gov.) 1739. John Adams. (h) 1740. Major Paul Mascarene. (i)

AT HALIFAX. 1749. Hon. E. Cornwallis. 1752. Col. Peregrine Hopson. 1753. Col. C. Lawrence. 1760. J. Belcher (Acting). 1763. Montagu Wilmot. 1768. Lord William Campbell. 1773. F. Legge. 1776. Mariot Arbuthnot. 1778. Sir Richard Hughes. 1781. Sir A. S. Hamond. 1782. John Parr. 1791. Richard Bulkeley. 1792. Sir John Wentworth. 1808. Sir G. Prevost. 1811. Sir John Sherbrooke. 1816. Earl of Dalhousie. 1820. Sir J. Kempt. 1828. Sir Peregrine Maitland. 1829. Michael Wallace. 1832. Thomas Jeffrey. 1834. Sir C. Campbell. 1840. Lord Falkland. 1846. Sir J. Harvey. 1852. Sir John G. le Marchant. 1858. Earl of Mulgrave. 1863. Maj.-Gen. Sir Hastings Doyle. 1864. Sir Richard G. Macdonnell.

1865. Gen. Sir Fenwick Williams.

(c.) Although Amherst's name is usually placed first on the list of English Governors of Canada, it is well known that at the capitulation of Montreal he divided the Provinces into three Governments or Districts, for each of which he appointed a Governor, and that he himself very shortly afterwards left the country and did not return. The Lieutenant-

numself very snortly afterwards left the country and did not return. The Lieutenant-Governors of these three Districts during what is commonly called the period of Military Rule, from 8th September, 1760, to 10th August, 1764, were:

District of Quebec: Gen. James Murray, September, 1760, to August, 1764.

District of Three Rivers: Col. Ralph Burton, September, 1760, to May, 1762; Col. Fred. Haldimand, May, 1762, to March, 1763; Col. Ralph Burton, March, 1763, to October, 1763; Col. Fred. Haldimand, October, 1763; to August, 1764.

District of Montreal: Gen. Thos. Gage, September, 1763, to October, 1763.

(d.) Sir Guy Carleton was Lieutenant-Governor and Acting Governor General from 24th September, 1766, to 25th October, 1768.

(e.) From 1786 to 1867 the Governor at Ouebec held also a commission as Governor of

(e.) From 1786 to 1867 the Governor at Quebec held also a commission as Governor of the Maritime Provinces, and (from 1791 to 1841) of Upper Canada, the Government of these provinces being administered by a Lieut. Governor, except during the presence in any province of the Governor General.